Business / Inspiration

Every morning is Christmas morning; look for gifts!

Every morning is Christmas morning! What gifts are in store for you today?

Every morning is Christmas morning! What gifts are in store for you today?

Have you heard the saying that every day is a gift? Do you believe it?

What might be different if you woke up to a new Christmas morning every day?

Sometimes, we wake up with a bad attitude, maybe from lack of sleep, maybe from stress…maybe because we’re not looking forward to what the day will or won’t bring. We play the victim because life is just happening to us. In fact, some people are so accustomed to this victim mentality, they begin to feel satisfied with their life’s drama and justified in their bad attitude. They get something out of it. “See?!” they say, “I was right, it didn’t work for me. I’m just not one of the lucky ones. My parents didn’t teach me good life skills, so I’m doomed. My life is harder than everyone else’s.” I know I’m guilty of this sick thinking, but I DO NOT want that to be my story. Do you?

Perhaps we just need a new perspective — every day truly is a gift. I can see my late grandmother in my mind, teaching Sunday school — smiling and happily singing, “This is a day! This is the day! That the Lord has made! That the Lord has made. Let’s us be glad. Let us be glad and rejoice and it!” I admit, sometimes it’s difficult for me to find that song in my heart. But looking back on my life so far, I regret the days I woke up with wrong thinking and missed opportunities to be of service to others, to receive something from others and to participate in God’s plan.

Some fail in their personal lives and businesses because they use their circumstances as an excuse. Mary Kay National Sales Director Judy Kawiecki suggests you should “work through whatever you’re going through, but keep working. Even when you don’t want to, just keep working till the “want” returns…it won’t return on it’s own.”

You’ve got to have what I call stick-to-it-ness! Compare your business (or whatever it is you’re working on in life) to an exercise program. When you start working out, it might feel a bit uncomfortable. You know it’s good for you, but you dread it. Frustration creeps in when you don’t see immediate results. You might even start thinking of reasons why you shouldn’t do it. But if stick with it, stay consistent, and push yourself to the next level with a little hard work and sweat, you’ll start to enjoy yourself. You’ll even look forward to your workouts! And, you WILL see results; they are inevitable.

To help me with my new never-give-up attitude, Christ’s Church of the Valley associate pastor Dan Reischel summed it up for me during his sermon last Sunday: Every night is Christmas Eve. Every morning is Christmas morning. Every day is Christmas day. Jesus is born — Immanuel, meaning God is with us. And he’s with us every moment. Live like it’s Christmas day, look for the gifts and be of good cheer. Purpose in your heart that today is Christmas and there are good gifts in store for you! It might be the gift of meeting a new friend, overcoming a challenge, perfecting a skill, learning from a mistake, helping a stranger, receiving an opportunity, giving hope or simply making someone else’s day a little bit better. Look for the gifts God has for you every moment, every day.

Perhaps these statistics will put it in perspective for you:

  • If you woke up this morning with more health than illness, you are more blessed than 1 million who won’t survive this week.
  • If you have food in your refrigerator, clothes on your back, roof over your head, you are richer than 75% than the world.
  • If you have money in your bank account, cash in your wallet and spare money in a dish somewhere, you are among the top 8 percent of world’s wealthy.
  • If you walk around with a smile on your face and you are thankful, you are blessed because the majority can but do not.
4 thoughts on “Every morning is Christmas morning; look for gifts!

  1. I really like your web site. I find it to be very uplifting and positive. I can really identify with your last story: Every morning is Christmas morning.
    Thank you for helping others see the light when their world may seem black.

    Chantel

Leave a Reply

